Dogs / Welfare

A quick word on BSL and an update

I hope that in the near future, animal professionals and communities can come together to create more effective, more just legislation regarding dangerous dogs; legislation based on behavior and founded in science, not based on breed and founded in prejudice. (Okay, I don’t just hope, I will be working for it!)

The future is looking bright, as Massachusetts recently passed legislation which banned breed-based dangerous dog laws.  (Among many other important and hopefully beneficial provisions.)

Made this video featuring the pit bulls at the shelter where I worked, just last year (entirely unscientific, but I thought you might get a kick out of it).

PS: Apologies for the lack of new posts, I’ve been very busy with my thesis research!  Only a few more weeks to go.  It’s been enjoyably challenging (Mostly enjoyable, in a thought-provoking way…but not always, hehe).  I’m learning so much and having a lot of fun, too.

Something to bark about? Leave a comment here

